ProMo: Love, Lucy by April Lindner

Hello lovelies! I know I’ve been an awful blogger for the past few months, I’m so so sorry – adulting has been really getting me down. Please forgive me. As an apology gift – do those even exist? – here’s a new ProMo for you all 🙂

I often receive emails from authors asking me to review their books, and although their book does sound incredibly interesting I’m just too busy to read them at that moment. I always feel horrible when this happens because I love finding new books and authors and sharing my opinions with all of you. Fortunately, ProMo is a place where I get to share with you some of these books which I don’t have time to read but would still like to give a little spotlight on my blog incase you think it sounds good and would like to pick it up.


20911403.jpg

Title: Love, Lucy

Author: April Lindner

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Published: 27th January 2015

Publisher: Poppy

Pages: 304

Find This Book On: Goodreads or Amazon UK or Amazon US


Synopsis from Goodreads

While backpacking through Florence, Italy, during the summer before she heads off to college, Lucy Sommersworth finds herself falling in love with the culture, the architecture, the food…and Jesse Palladino, a handsome street musician. After a whirlwind romance, Lucy returns home, determined to move on from her “vacation flirtation.” But just because summer is over doesn’t mean Lucy and Jesse have to be, does it?
In this stunning novel, April Lindner perfectly captures the highs and lows of a summer love that might just be meant to last beyond the season.


Author Interview

Q1. Let’s get to know you better, what’s a random fact about yourself?

A. Among my friends, I’ve got a reputation for being the crazy guinea pig Lady.  When my sons were small, I adopted a couple of rescued guinea pigs and fell in love with how funny and cuddly and quirky and sweet those little creatures are.  I’m now down to one guinea pig—a black and orange Abyssinian named Tootsie Roll—but whenever there’s a guinea-pig related video or meme floating around on the web, somebody (or several somebodies) sends it to me because they know I’ll love it.  

Q2. What made you want to become a writer?

A. I’ve loved to read my whole life, and early on my mother encouraged me to write my own poems, stories, and songs.  Then in third grade I had a wonderful teacher who would let our class write and draw in our downtime, and would “publish” our illustrated poems and stories in a bound book.  Being published was thrilling to me then, and it’s still thrilling now.

Q3. For all of us non-writers, where do you find your inspiration from?

A. When I’ve got writer’s block, I read—fiction, poetry, memoir, whatever I can get my hands on–and the music of other writers’ words tends to get my own mind moving.  I also get a supercharge of inspiration from live music and travel—so I try to indulge in both whenever possible.

Q4. What’s the thing you most love and hate about writing?

A. I love how writers make something rich and complicated out of practically nothing.  We don’t need paints or guitars and amplifiers or blocks of marble.  Out of nothing more than little symbols on a page we create whole worlds, and that’s really pretty miraculous.
But on the flip side, sometimes I wish I worked in a less abstract, more sensuous medium.  When I step into a painter’s studio I get jealous over all that great stuff artists get to use—the smell and look and feel of paint, the canvases that need to be stretched, the jars full of brushes.  Just sitting alone in a room typing on a computer can feel a little sterile and lonely sometimes.

Q5. Who is your all-time favourite author and why?

A. My all time favorite book is Jane Eyre, so much so that my own first novel was a contemporary retelling of Jane’s story.   So I feel like I should answer Charlotte Bronte, but if we’re talking about a writer’s whole body of work, the answer has to be Jane Austen who knew so much about human nature, whose restraint and intelligence makes her stories about ungovernable human emotion all the more poignant.

Q6. How many books, novellas, short stories etc have you written? Tell us a little bit about them and where we can find them.

A. I’ve written three Young Adult novels, all published by Poppy.  The newest, Love, Lucy, is about to hit the bookstores in paperback from on July 12th.  While backpacking through Europe the summer before college, Lucy falls for Jesse, a footloose street musician.  She returns home, determined to move on from her “vacation flirtation,” but finds it’s not so easy to fall out of love.  Jesse’s side of the story is told in Far From Over, a novella, published last spring by NOVL.

Catherine, my second novel, reimagines Wuthering Heightsas an impassioned love story between a nightclub owner’s daughter and an aspiring punk rocker.  And in Jane, my heroine is a college girl who can’t help falling for her boss–a charismatic rock star on the brink of a comeback.  

All three novels are available from the usual online booksellers.  Far From Over is exclusively in e-book format, but can be bought from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Q7. What are you currently working on? What’s it about?

A. I’m working on a Middle Grade novel that mashes up contemporary realism with historical fiction via time travel: a girl exiled to her Grandmother’s house in Brooklyn slips through a loophole in time into the life of her great grandmother, an Italian immigrant struggling to find her place in the new world.  Writing it has been a real challenge and a true change of pace.

Q8. And finally, what is your favourite genre to write about and why?

A. I’m a sucker for a good love story, especially if it’s set in Europe.  And if it’s set in Italy, I’m a goner.


photoGet in touch with Author at…
  • Email – april.lindner@gmail.com
  • Website – www.aprillindner.com
  • Instagram – @misadventure123
  • Twitter – @misadventure123

Get Involved…

If you are an author and would like to be considered for ProMo, visit the segment’s official page for more details!


Thanks for reading, guys! Let me know if you’re going to read this book, or if you already have. Also, let me know what you think of ProMo 🙂
cfghj

7 thoughts on “ProMo: Love, Lucy by April Lindner

  1. How good to see you back in the driver’s seat again–and better than ever! This sounds like just the escape read from the students in my class who are frantically trying to write a researched argumentative loooong essay for mid-term. I will save this post for them to see during the break or before class.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always feel when I have to decline a request to read a author’s. Almost all sound interesting, but I am not equipped to read all types of books. My Kindle doesn’t would for a number of them. I need to search for the book and that takes time away from reading it.

    Like

Leave a comment